Nominees Presented for 2010-2011 Post Officers


UTICA, NY, April 5, 2010 – Nominating Committee Chair Mike Cavanaugh presented a list of nominees for 2010-2011 post officers at the April 1st Post Meeting, which followed a roast beef dinner, presentation of top cop awards, crowning of Miss Poppy and first-time posting of the colors by Webelo Scouts from the post’s Cub Scout Pack

 Most current officers have been nominated for re-election, including Commander Tony Palladino, First Vice Commander John Driscoll, Second Vice Commander Chris Urban, Third Vice Commander Len Lascala, Adjutant Jim George, Treasurer Jim Haggerty, Service Officer Dave Wilson and Chaplain Paul Wojcik.

In addition, Dave Manore has been nominated for vice commander. With four nominees for the three vice commander positions, there will be a paper ballot at the May meeting to decide which three nominees will serve.

A paper ballot will also decide who will serve as sergeant at arms, as both Johnnie Stenson and Rich Maloon have been nominated.

Among the other positions, Al Alteri has been nominated for judge advocate, and Bob Stronach for historian.


Plans for the Post 229-sponsored Memorial Day parade are progressing, Paul Wojcik reported. So far, three bands have committed to march, the Utica Fire Department is providing two fire trucks, and the National Guard is supplying two Humvees with soldiers. Grand marshals will consist of representatives from each branch of military service.


Scouting and Jr. Shooting officer Dave Manore announced that two members of the post would receive Scouting’s highest award for adults – the Silver Beaver.

Marybeth McCall, MD, and Wayne Dapres will be among seven Silver Beaver recipients honored at the Revolutionary Trails Council Dinner on June 3.

Manore also said he hoped to arrange a training day for junior shooting instructors.