Post Elects 2010-2011 Officers

MSgt Keyes Gives Heart-Felt 'Thank You'

Saying “thank you” doesn’t do justice to how much he appreciates Utica Post 229’s support of the Notre Dame High School Junior ROTC program over the past 20 years, Marine Master Sgt. Howard Keyes told post and auxiliary members gathered for the monthly dinner-meeting on May 6.

So, the naval science instructor presented Post Commander Tony Palladino with a plaque on behalf of Notre Dame, and showed a video of Notre Dame’s award-winning trick rifle drill team.

Both the drill team performance and Keyes received rousing applause.

Palladino in turn honored one of the Notre Dame cadets – Ben Gelfusco -- with a Legion Certificate of Appreciation for all the volunteer work the cadet has done at the post.

After that, the post commander presented Richard Fenton with a certificate from the national commander, recognizing his 50 years as a Legion member.

Notre Dame JROTC cadets march in formation after posting the colors.

Then Notre Dame cadets helped to open the official portion of the membership meeting by posting the colors.

Ken Rowland of Utica was officially welcomed as a new member, recently transferring from New Hartford Post 1376. Rowland fought in the Battle of the Bulge in the Ardennes Forest of Belgium in World War II, and is president of the Mohawk Valley Chapter/Veterans of the Battle of the Bulge Association. The month-and-a-half long wintry battle was the last major German offensive of the war. When the Germans sent a message demanding surrender, the American commander, Gen. Anthony McAuliffe, simply responded, “Nuts!”

Dave Manore, Scouting liaison, presented the commander with a unit charter and ribbon from Boy Scouts of America for the post-sponsored Cub Scout Pack.

Members unanimously voted to endorse Commander Tony Palladino for the office of Oneida County American Legion chaplain.

After several reports by officers and committee chairs, the post conducted its annual election of officers. Most officers were re-elected to another term. The results:

  • Commander: Anthony Palladino
  • 1st Vice Commander: John Driscoll
  • 2nd Vice Commander: Chris Urban
  • 3rd Vice Commander: Lenny Lescala
  • Adjutant: Jim George
  • Treasurer: James Haggerty
  • Chaplain: Paul Wojcik
  • Historian: Robert Stronach
  • Service Officer: David Wilson
  • Sgt.-at-Arms: John Stenson
  • Judge Advocate: Albert Alteri

Executive Board: Frank Cassella, Jack LaPaglia, Bennie Price, Thomas O’Toole, Vincent Zaleski.

Scholarship Committee: Jim McGuire, Thomas O’Toole, David Wilson, Paul Wojcik, Vincent Zaleski.

An installation banquet for the 2010-2011 leadership team takes place at 6 p.m. Friday, May 14.

MSgt Howard Keyes
MSgt Howard Keyes

Cadet Ben Gelfusco
Adjutant Jim George reads Certificate of Appreciation for Cadet Ben Gelfusco (right).

Richard Fenton, 50-year member
Richard Fenton receives 50-year member certificate from Post Commander Tony Palladino.

Ken Rowland
Ken Rowland
Battle of Bulge veteran